For a while now, I’ve been thinking about living on $30k a year (excluding tithing or saving) by living wisely in order to leave the rest of my salary for more worthy pursuits: supporting the church (especially missionaries), artists and writers, et al. It would reduce my love for things of this world and keep me from getting distracted from things of eternal importance; I think it would also be an example to others to do the same and be raised in godliness.

Doing all the smart things to the life I live is a smart one, not a short-changed one. To come up with even more ways to live more efficiently – and hopefully more effectively – I’ve been reading excellent sites like getrichslowly.org or thesmartdollar.com.

What I didn’t know before was that the motivation for this had biblical precedent as well. In Bible study Mike pointed out a verse:

Let the thief no longer steal, but rather let him labor, doing honest work with his own hands, so that he may have something to share with anyone in need. (Eph. 4:28)

Note here that the point of the former thief working isn’t that it makes him self-sufficient but that it enables him to give back to the body of believers. This flies completely in the face of all conventional wisdom, but it supports my recent conviction of using my money in a way that I can store my treasures in heaven where they will truly matter.

