In an apparent continuation of a theme started by a previous post, I was thinking while at CostCo a few days back about something talked about in the book Every Young Man’s Battle, the idea that we don’t even entertain the thought of impurity, that we do not have the liberty of considering the wrong “alternative,” that the “alternative” does not even exist.

At the time I thought it to be a good idea on a simply practical, visceral level, but as I looked around at the flow of people moving past me, I noticed many women attempting to be “attractive”: the makeup, the clothes (or lack thereof). I took note of this but also that had I not had my brain turned on, I could easily have been sucked in as well. I’m aware of the rationalization we so quickly go through: “Oh, she’s nice” or “I’ll stay faithful given I’m still attracted to my wife or that temptress is not hot enough.”

But do you see what’s wrong?

We’re focusing (again) on ourselves — on ourselves or the person in question. It’s then that I realize the value of advice and the underlying reality that makes the advice sound. When we say that we “don’t have the authority to consider such an ‘alternative’ ” we make it about the God who has bought us with His blood. Yes, ultimately this comes down to the matter of God’s sovereignty and authority over our lives.

In fact, let’s take this a step further. Since, then, true purity is focusing on God and His ownership over our lives, is then the person who does the acts of purity not being pure if he is abstaining simply because of say, convenience of himself or the person in question not meeting a minimum attractiveness, etc. ? In other words, are there then a lot of people who practice purity for the wrong reasons? Is that not then a feigned purity, so deluding themselves and others?

Your thoughts?

