But he was wounded for our transgressions;
he was crushed for our iniquities;
upon him was the chastisement that brought us peace,
and with his stripes we are healed.

—Isaiah 53:5

This passage reminds me of when I first saw this verse in a meaningful way that really stuck with me: at the beginning of the movie Passion of the Christ.

Since then, I’ve not given it much thought, though my impression now of the imagery is odd. I’ve always accepted it at face value and just gone with it, but now as I try to find an appropriate image/illustration I come up short. Surely this is backwards thinking in terms of the world. How can it be that by someone else’s injury, we receive healing?

After much deliberation, an example comes to mind, however. It is that of leukemia. and the bone marrow transplant that’s needed to save the patient. Only a perfect match (like the perfect sacrifice) will do and the donor must be “wounded” in our place to replace the tainted life-blood that runs through our veins with his life (which parallels with Christ’s life that lives in us) in order to save us from ourselves and the cancer that is taking over us like death itself (like how sin has killed our spiritual life and is killing our physical life).

All nature declares the Glory of the Lord

I hope this has been helpful in giving you another way to look and remember this verse

In Him,
Tim

